The Cleansing of the Tides

Poetry

It beckons to you
seducing you with it’s rhythmic waves that soothe the restless soul
entoning the beat of the heart, the spirit, the world
until all is washed away whole
With each breath, each wave bringing new treasures
new mysteries for us to awe and admire
and, though cleansing, it is not without pain
it is passion without fire
The vast endlessness calling explorers to voyage
and broken-hearted poets to dream
all in search of the same enlightenment
in mother nature’s arms at sea
For me, you have returned me home
to a place in my heart that I have sometimes forgot
Quieting my demons, clearing my mind
filling me with that once lost
ocean
Mustang Island, TX
October 2014

Leave a Reply

